Ivey Eye Institute - London Ontario Canada

| Wednesday May 27, 2020
2:27 AM

Clinical Specialty

Bio Sketch

 Dr. Ian McIlraith is a glaucoma specialist at the Ivey Eye Institute, St. Joseph's Hospital. The focus of Dr. McIlraith's clinical practice is adult glaucoma and cataracts. He is an Associate Professor of Ophthalmology at Western University and is the Director of the Undergraduate Ophthalmology Program at the University.

After obtaining his undergraduate degree from McMaster University, Dr. McIlraith completed medical school and residency at Western University's Schulich School of Medicine. Additional training was undertaken in London, England at Moorfields Eye Hospital as well as at the University of California, San Francisco. A subsequent fellowship in glaucoma was then completed at the University of Toronto.

Dr. McIlraith is actively involved in teaching medical students and residents, and has been the recipient of many teaching awards.

Dr. McIlraith is the author of a regular feature column in the Canadian Journal of Ophthalmology titled F.Y.Eye. He has a number of research publications, and he is also involved in ongoing clinical research trials related to glaucoma.

Clinical Focus

 Glaucoma and cataract surgery

Academic Appointment

Associate Professor, Western University
Director, Undergraduate Ophthalmology Medical Education, Western University

Ian McIlraith


  • Residency: Western University
  • Fellowship:

     Glaucoma, University of Toronto

Office Contact Information

  • Phone: 519 - 646 - 6208
  • Fax: 519 - 646 - 6412
  • Address:

Ivey Eye Institute
St. Joseph's Hospital
268 Grosvenor Street
London  ON  N6A 4V2

Ivey Eye Institute
St. Joseph's Health Care London, St. Joseph's Hospital
Department of Ophthalmology, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry
Western University
268 Grosvenor Street, Zone B, Level 1, Room B1-050
London Ontario Canada, N6A 4V2
Tel: 519-646-6100 ext. 66018
www.iveyeye.ca / doctors / doctors-by-name / ian-mcilraith /
This page last updated on: September 11, 2017.